charged it with gathering feedback

from faculty and students on the teaching of writing at Skidmore and to make recommendations to CEPP.

A number of faculty members volunteered to serve on the task force. From these volunteers CEPP chose six from a variety of disciplines and asked two students to serve on the task force as well. The 8 task force members include:

- 1) Matthew Hockenos from history and chair of CEPP
- 2) Lenora de la Luna from education
- 3) Greg Pfitzer from American Studies
- 4) Michael Marx from English
- 5) Katie Hauser from art history
- 6) Judy Halstead from env. studies and chemistry
- 7) Matthew Wilson (2006) (studio art major and tutor at the Writing Center)
- 8) Kendra Asplund (2007) (chemistry major)

The background to the establishment of the task force was that a number of faculty members expressed the belief that more research and data on student writing was needed before they could make an educated and informed decision regarding any proposals that CEPP brought to the faculty for a new writing requirement.

The task force began its regular meetings in September and I believe we have accomplished a good deal in the past few months.

First, we researched the writing requirements at the 21 colleges and universities that